PCI full Council meeting in Srinagar on Monday


Srinagar, Oct 07 (Only Kashmir): The Press Council of India (PCI) is for the first time convening full Council meeting in Srinagar on 9 October 2017. This will be the last full council meeting of the present Press Council before the new Council is constituted towards the end of this year.
The PCI delegation led by its chairman Justice (Retd) C K Prasad and Members are scheduled to arrive here on 8 October for the annual Council meeting.

The PCI Members arriving for the meeting in Srinagar include Mr S N Sinha, (President, Indian Journalists Union), Mr Prakash Dubey (Group Editor Dainik Bhaskar), Mr Prabhat Kumar, Mr Apoorva Kumar, Mr Bipin Newar, Mr Rajiv Ranjan Nag, Mr K D Chandola, Dr Suman Gupta, Dr K Sreenivasrao, Mr C K Nayak, Mr Prajanand Chaudhri, Mr Sondeep Shankar, Mr Krishna Prasad, Mr K Amarnath and Mr Gurinder Singh.
The delegation also includes, Ms Vibha Bhargava, Secretary PCI, Ms Poonam Sibal, Deputy Secretary PCI and others.
Pertinently, a 3-Member PCI Sub-Committee headed by Mr S N Sinha visited Kashmir, Jammu and Ladakh earlier this year to discuss the issues facing the media in the State.
Following the extensive visit of the PCI Sub-Committee to all the regions of the State and wide-ranging deliberations with the stakeholders, the full Council is now convening its annual meeting in Srinagar to dwell on detail on the issues confronting the media.
The Press Council of India was first set up in the year 1966 by the Parliament on the recommendations of the First Press Commission with the object of preserving the freedom of the press and of maintaining and improving the standards of press in India.